Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
thill

Opinions about Shimano Corsair 400 reels, please...

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

What do you guys think about the Shimano Corsair reels?

I just bought one, the Corsari 401, LH retrieve. It has a centrifugal casting control, and is the first reel I've ever owned where I could just haul off with 100% power, and not worry about backlashes at all!

Everything seems smooth so far. What do you guys think of this reel? Does it hold up to big fish, salt and sand?

Another question: What length and action ROD would you pair up with this reel? I'm fairly new to conventional fishing, so I need help, but have a limited budget.

Thanks in advance, everyone!

TH

TH, now just where you gonna get any sand on that thing? wink.gif

In all seriousness, I've never fished one but have waded thru nothing but "bad press" posts on the Corsairs, sorry to say. For the same money you could have had an Abu 6500C3.

Your rod question is just a little broad... reels of that class size can - and do - fit rather nicely on everthing from 5' musky plugging rods to 10' plus surf rods, so length and action-wise, it's rather more of a case of what won't it match up with.

[This message has been edited by Bill Klein (edited 10-06-2000).]

redface.gifHa, Ha, Ha.....

I'll make it to the beach SOMEDAY! You can bet on that! But salt is another matter! I get that on everything!

Do you have any answers, or are you just going to sit there and heckle me?!? confused.gif

But it's okay...(Sniff!) It makes me feel at home! biggrin.gif

TH

Thill,