Finance experts: Traditional 401k or a roth 401k

Rate this topic

Goldy

@flyangler and others.  Im interested in hearing your opinions. 

traditional 401k or a roth 401k.    Ive been doing a roth 401k at my current job for 10+ years but im not sure if that is the right decision.    Post tax vs pre tax.    But at 59.5 i can withdrawal tax free.   Well thats all well and good but what if my tax rate is lower then.  

my first part of my career i dont even think anyone offered roth 401k so i would say i have 12+ yrs with traditional. 

curious what others think and what others are doing. 

Roth contributions are always a great path, tax free income at retirement, especially if you have a state income tax.  Sometimes a traditional contribution can place in a lower tax bracket, but my thoughts are creating tax free buckets of income during retirement years is critical.   In addition, Roths are not subject to required minimum distributions (RMD's).

Also, different subject, are you contributing to an HSA, if eligible?  Consider it a medical IRA to pay for medical expenses during retirement on a tax free basis, plus this is a deduction from current income.

Edited by cartopper

"Starving dogs begging for scraps. The big picture is not important as long as we can get our scraps."

1 hour ago, Kml said:

Your tax rate should be lower by the time you start drawing from the Roth.

Herein lies the rub.  Should.  

@Goldy this is a subject near and dear and one I've beaten up pretty good in the last year, and much like the taste great less filling argument, there is no one size fits all answer.

I look at my historic income over the last 20 years, and save a few outliers, it's been pretty consistent and I expect my expenses to track similarly.  Point being, I expect to remain in a similar tax bracket for quite some time, and, we don't know how those brackets might change in the next 30 years.