The grass

Rate this topic

bennie

I have a large plot of land in my back yard that has Zoysia  grass on it , which you have to do nothing to once it takes hold.  That includes watering.  i didn't plant it but it is the best grass I have ever found.  The one negative is in the winter it turns somewhat brown,which I don't mind since i spend that time in FL.  When I get back in May it is green and attractive. It is tougher than weeds which is hard to believe.  It is planted using plugs which I didn't don thank God.

Looks great to me, I'm jealous haha. 

I've never had a good lawn, always a major project going on so the lawn was never the focus. This is my first year trying to have an actual lawn and not crabgrass and I am struggling already. Doesn't help that I despise landscaping and plantings etc. I'd rather do anything else. 

9 mins ago, fishfinder401 said:

Moss is better than grass any day... It will be a sad day that i actually choose to plant a grass lawn

Unfortunately my lawn’s a mix of moss, weeds, clover and grass.  So I get the pleasure of mowing a shitty looking lawn.  

In a month or so it’ll start looking good just before it burns due to lack of water.

I think I did pretty well. Had Jehovah's witnesses come to my house the other day, after I politely declined, they understood but wanted to just say one thing. Sure, what do I have to lose ... "your grass, oh my, it is like you did not even have a winter on your property! It looks amazing" I had to tell my wife immediately that her sacrifice of watching the children and my labor was no longer in vain, if that is not a measure of success I do not know what is. 

I have the vocabulary of a well-educated sailor. 

3 hours ago, John P said: