Rate this topic

Hey guys,

I am new to fishing and am looking for tips to help me catch more fish. What is one thing you wish you learned earlier about fishing in these waters? What is the most effective method of fishing here? What is your favorite type of shore based fishing here? 

Any advice is much appreciated!

Best,

Steve

My best advice for anyone new to fishing is to start by going to your local tackle shop and have them set you up appropriately for the area you would like to fish. They are also there to teach you what you should be targeting and when.

Edited by Grummantigerman

Bottom fishing in the Sound is always good. April has a fleeting big bass window of a few weeks. Summer can be slow for Stripers except at night. Wait till Oct. for the Albies, blitzing bass and monster bluefish bite. 

Tis better to remain silent and thought the fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

My best advice is don’t listen to advice. Gear and general safety stuff, sure, but as far as where and when to fish, no. North shore, SS, back, whatever it doesn’t matter. 
fish the spot to death. 10, 20 times. Different tides different times. Eventually you will catch. Make a note of the conditions when you caught. Go back again on those conditions and try to replicate. 

fishing at Captree or fishing on mars, the formula is the same. Everything else is just clout 

18 hours ago, PhantomofTheSurf said:

My best advice is don’t listen to advice. Gear and general safety stuff, sure, but as far as where and when to fish, no. North shore, SS, back, whatever it doesn’t matter. 
fish the spot to death. 10, 20 times. Different tides different times. Eventually you will catch. Make a note of the conditions when you caught. Go back again on those conditions and try to replicate. 

fishing at Captree or fishing on mars, the formula is the same. Everything else is just clout