Ireland!...golfing/fishing? suggestions

Rate this topic

striperstalker2

I've talked to some representatives of a group promoting Irish fishing at fly fishing shows.  If you Google "Angling Ireland" you can find a site that provides information on guides, tackle shops, etc.

From what I can tell, the most interesting fishing is for Atlantic salmon; there are a number of outfitters/lodges that guide anglers on local rivers, which can be adjacent to the lodge.  How good the fishing is compared to Canada, Iceland, or other European operations, I don't know.  There is also some saltwater fishing for European bass, which seems--and I say "seems" because I'm getting all my knowledge from conversations and brochures, not from actual experience--most available on the southwest coast, with some other minor species available.  Inland, there seems to be some fairly decent pike fishing,.

Again, I have no personal knowledge, but pre-COVID was considering an Irish fishing trip just for the sake of doing something different, seeing some new country, and eating some different food, so I have done a bit of preliminary research,.  Somebody who has actually been there could probably provide much more useful information.

"I have always believed that outdoor writers who come out against fish and wildlife conservation are in the wrong business. To me, it makes as much sense golf writers coming out against grass.."  --  Ted Williams

Kildare Hotel and Country Club, aka The K Club. Golf, clays and 2+ miles of the Liffey River as I recall it. It’s been 20 years but the ghillies were a hoot and the wild trout were quite big. 

“No nation in history has survived once its borders were destroyed, once its citizenship was rendered no different from mere residence, and once its neighbors with impunity undermined its sovereignty.”

- Victor Davis Hanson 

Just in case the fishing is fooked, and yer golf game lacking ... :D:beers: