TopStriperAngler

Fishing Log Vs. Memory

Rate this topic

38 posts in this topic

I never done fishing log. Last year made notes in Google Earth the free computer application. Didn't make notes after every trip mostly just made notes about what happened during a tide cycle or that kind of stuff. There's like a three month gap in entries dunno why. I was fishing that whole time but I can only come up with a vague chronology of what happened. I guess this year will try to do a better job and keep up on it. I like the Google Earth thing. Memory is pretty useless when it comes down to it. At same time seems like things change every year and the big takeaway from recent seasons is you have to keep moving to find fish, seem to set up different spots each year. 

I've been keeping one of sorts for over 20 years.  Started off with just basic when, where, what I caught.  Eventually added more details.  It's a great way to remember past fishing adventures.

I asked about keeping a log recently somewhere else and the general consensus seemed to be that it wasn't very useful in the long run as you eventually just pick up on the patterns yourself without the aid of recorded data. Can't speak to this myself, but I may try to keep one myself to see how useful it is for a beginner.

20 mins ago, Camhabib said:

I asked about keeping a log recently somewhere else and the general consensus seemed to be that it wasn't very useful in the long run as you eventually just pick up on the patterns yourself without the aid of recorded data. Can't speak to this myself, but I may try to keep one myself to see how useful it is for a beginner.