jjdbike

Deck boot suggestion needed please

Rate this topic

63 posts in this topic

Hey folks,

I’m new to SoCal and intend to do some ground fishing. I have light weight summer boots. I need some for winter, such as it is in SoCal. Looking for comfortable, supportive and a little insulation. Light weight would be good but not at the sacrifice of all day comfort and support.

What do you folks recommend?

Thanks in advance,

JD

Southern California I would not expect to use anything more than flip flops :)

But if there is a need for cooler temps I would just the same as I do for Jersey winters. I just use a regular pair of xtra tuf deck boots one size larger so I can fit a heavy wool sock. 

I like the grunden deck boss ankle high for our warmer months. 

3 mins ago, Kml said:

But if there is a need for cooler temps I would just the same as I do for Jersey winters. I just use a regular pair of xtra tuf deck boots one size larger so I can fit a heavy wool sock. 

Thanks brother,

The current temp here is 41. Far from arctic, and it will most likely briefly reach mid 50’s by this afternoon. No idea what it’s like off shore here in winter. I do know standing on a steel deck all day can be cold on the feet and hard on the body. That’s why I wanted something warm and comfortable. I’m getting older and comfort matters.

Thanks again,

JD

I did get a pair of patagonia winter weight fleece oversocks this year that look great but it never really did get cold here. 

Hi JD,

Xtratuf boots are the most popular in CA.  I also had a pair of Shimano Evair boots that were extremely light.  If comfort is your top priority, I'd suggest just wearing your favorite tennis shoes.