KNOT preference for direct tie with 200# mono?

Rate this topic

flyangler

Question may seem basic but becoming important as I try to move away from using TA clips with big poppers like those shown. 

What is your preferred knot for connecting 150-200# hard mono leader to the nose of a popper or attached split-ring? Rigging is 14K reel with 65# braid connected by FG to 200# mono. Given the 65#, the terminal knot does NOT have to be close to 100% strength, in theory even 50% covers the braid. The key is a tight connection to the plug to maximize water throw. 

I have zero experience tying 200# with a tight knot, having used crimps in the past. Loop knot won't work with mono that thick - even if you could tighten it, the knot will remain an open loop, sloppy connection. 

This is a question often asked about giant trevalleys and the like because of their size and power. In this case, large jack crevalle in structure and the need for a heavy fray leader. Also, where the big JCs are, the blacktip sharks can be also, thus a bite leader just in case. Though when poppers are rigged intentionally for sharks, we use 300-400# mono and that requires crips. 

So clinch? regular or improved? 

palomar?

uni?

SD jam?

figure 8?

joe miller? 

Yeah, lame question but I am interested in what people are actually using. Especially any of you tuna and GT anglers. 

Buy Rapala X-Rap Magnum Xplode Popper online at Marine-Deals.com.au

Buy Nomad Design Chug Norris Popper 120mm 45g online at Marine-Deals.co.nz

“No nation in history has survived once its borders were destroyed, once its citizenship was rendered no different from mere residence, and once its neighbors with impunity undermined its sovereignty.”

- Victor Davis Hanson 

10 mins ago, FallenKell said:

Another for just crimping anything over 100 lbs. Too easy to screw up with line that thick and stiff when making a knot.

Agree. Crimp and be done.