PeteRocck

Spinning or casting?

Rate this topic

20 posts in this topic

Just curious on what everyone is using for surf casting. 
I’m currently new to surf casting and I’m using a spinning reel. How many of you use a conventional style reel? Don’t chop my head off but heard conventional reel will cast further. Is that true? 

8 mins ago, PeteRocck said:

Just curious on what everyone is using for surf casting. 
I’m currently new to surf casting and I’m using a spinning reel. How many of you use a conventional style reel? Don’t chop my head off but heard conventional reel will cast further. Is that true? 

In the right hands, with the right conventional setup, they will cast farther than a spinner.  For a beginner, I would stick with a spinner, a little more fool proof.

What cast further depends on what tackle is used and the fisherman … there are numerous articles on spinning vs conventional …my opinion and I never touch a spinning reel while surf fishing , says  conventional doesn’t have as many issues as spinning .. however there is the always potiential for that professional backlash, centrifugal brakes, mag brakes…as for spinning , line management is critical , how is the line laying on the spool , wind knots , braid or mono …. So to be on the safe side get one conventional for 3-8 oz and one spinning for 1-3 oz … don’t worry it’s only money …lol lol lol 

I use both, but I like my conventionals better. I think conventionals are way easier to cast than spinning reels after using them for a good year now, Especially with rigs weighing more than 6-7 ounces. Spinning reels will always have their place though, like when doing light chunking or bait fishing and plugging. Conventionals have more casting potential but it depends on the user if that potential gets used. I can get a 100 yard cast with a 12’ conventional much easier than I can with a 12’ spinner. 

Posted (edited)