j0broni

Best Surf Fishing spots in Long Island?

Rate this topic

29 posts in this topic

I'm a novice fisherman (just started 2 years ago) live in NYC and just quit my job. Am taking a month to myself to live the dream of fishing everyday and just enjoying life. I love surf fishing on Far Rockaway. I have a few good surf rods, a cooler, and a decent amount of spoons / diamond jigs / bucktails / gulp mullet.

I've really only surf fished far Rockaway. Would love to expand my horizons.

Where in Long Island are the best places to go surfcasting ?? Ideally accessible by the LIRR?

Thanks for your time.

Joe

12 mins ago, j0broni said:

I'm a novice fisherman (just started 2 years ago) live in NYC and just quit my job. Am taking a month to myself to live the dream of fishing everyday and just enjoying life. I love surf fishing on Far Rockaway. I have a few good surf rods, a cooler, and a decent amount of spoons / diamond jigs / bucktails / gulp mullet.

I've really only surf fished far Rockaway. Would love to expand my horizons.

Where in Long Island are the best places to go surfcasting ?? Ideally accessible by the LIRR?

Thanks for your time.

Joe

Easy and close for you would be Jones Beach field 6.

Park in the east lot, quick walk to the water, then continue east.

Go at low tide to see some real soft structure and take a few casts. 
Structure is key or you’re fishing blind.
Head east, past the nude beach at field 9 and there’s a few not so prominent points. Keep walking and you’ll find the Roda at Tobay. It’s a long walk, but often productive. 

Go on google maps and find places. That’s the best way to do it. Nobody is gonna tell you their favorite spots. I will say maybe go on google maps and look to the right and left of far rockaway and fish around there. Sombody once told me to fish in areas that you can easily access and consistently go to and I think that’s very helpful. 

41 mins ago, Chrishockey said: