Deniz

Tuna Fillet Knife Recommendation

Rate this topic

22 posts in this topic

Hi guys!

What brand knives would you recommend for filleting tuna? Do i need a special style knife or would any fillet knife do the job? I did some research online and it seems there was a big variety of options: regular fillet knives, leaf knives (kind of pricey), special tuna cutting blades, etc. So what do you use to fillet rec size bluefin?

Thanks in advance!

You might be looking for a breaking knife.

I'm no expert buts it's what I purchased.

Hoping to need it this season.

Screenshot_20220707-055615_Google.jpg

Screenshot_20220707-055651_Chrome.jpg

Posted (edited) · Report post

I'd say you'll need 2 knives.  Filet & steaking (breaking or Cimiter)

Do u want any flex in the blade? 

Breakin or Cimiter have none.   They're used for cutting steaks or anytime you want a long straight cut thru large pieces of meat.   

They would work great on the already removed loins but not so well on removing the loins.  

For filet. I would look for a something labeled semi rigid boning.  Probably 8-10in.   For the steak knife I like em big 14-16in. But thats the meatcutter in me talkin.   

You can use anything but how it looks when your done will be the difference.  

Dexter Russel or Victorinox is my usual go-to. 

If u want cheap useable knives, find out who does the rental service in your local grocery stores. They sell blades for pretty decent prices.  

Edited by PSegnatelli

The Japanese cutters processing stratospherically priced GBFT use knives with no flex at all. Not sure about the technique, but I've seen videos.

1 hour ago, ermghoti said:

The Japanese cutters processing stratospherically priced GBFT use knives with no flex at all. Not sure about the technique, but I've seen videos.

Ok, but skill levels.....

Those dudes see ALOT of fish and are at home with their knives. 

4 mins ago, PSegnatelli said:

Ok, but skill levels.....