Newell knock-off

Rate this topic

ecks

I see that eatmytackle brand on amazon all the time. They make some offshore stuff for tuna and billfish too. They seem to have generally good reviews. Never tried any of their stuff. Has anybody here had any experience with them?

They were biting before you got here and they’ll bite again after you leave

18 mins ago, BrianBM said:

The resemblance is close enough for copyright infringement, if anybody were maintaining the Newell tackle brand.

I am no expert, but I have done some research years ago:

I don’t think this is a copyright issue. It would be a patent infringement which is long since expired. There are 2 patents that can apply, utility and design. Most fishing reels are under a design patent that expired after 15 years.

A utility patent would be more difficult to obtain, and would last for 20 years if maintained through fees. 

11 hours ago, ged said:

I am no expert, but I have done some research years ago:

I don’t think this is a copyright issue. It would be a patent infringement which is long since expired. There are 2 patents that can apply, utility and design. Most fishing reels are under a design patent that expired after 15 years.

A utility patent would be more difficult to obtain, and would last for 20 years if maintained through fees. 

There are design patents and trademarks. I don’t think the design patent would apply because round reels have been around for a hundred years.  However, my guess is Newell is trademarked and registered to the manufacturer, and the branding of the Eat My Tackle reel is so obviously copied off the Newell, that the title of this thread is Newell knock off. If Newell was still in business I imagine there would be a lawsuit, since it isn’t, Eat My Tackles lawyer likely gave a thumbs up.

11 hours ago, BrianBM said:

OK. I stand corrected.

28 mins ago, fishhappy said: