Anyone loading “Docs” ?

Rate this topic

patabate

One consistency I’ve found with Docs is that they are inconsistent in their action or gliding. Most times the nose will not dig in but on some percentage of the retrieve it will bury itself. I’ve screwed around with different hooks but I’m still not happy. I thought about loading the plug or putting some small amount of weight in the tail. Has anyone had experience altering these plugs other than hooks?

Pat - not sure.  I’m by no means an expert with this plug but have gotten some advice from those captains  who originally broke the ground with the Doc in saltwater.  They tell me the older original Docs they ordered “hookless” from the Musky Mania? Website were much better fishers and more consistent.   They also told me to never lift fish with them because it could cause them to leak at the hook hangers.  Once water is inside they don’t fish the same. 

Possibly they are susceptible to tiny differences in weight or line drag. 
Believe there were a few Newport’ers who tied direct to lessen the fwd weight. 
think they also act different at different spots of the retrieve. Far away is more susceptible to bow digging. 
As far as mods go, I tried a flag only on the ass end and the action was good but missed more fish than I was willing to accept 

The new ones I've found are not as good as the older ones.   Older ones meaning when they were 8 bucks for a blank.  Had no eyes.  Plastic was harder.   I always tie direct with them now and have seen a bigger hook up rate than the guy standing next to me.  I do know a few guys who load them and troll them from a boat.  I have loaded them with mercury and noticed a lot better casting distance but it turns it into more of a nose glider than a spook. The fish don't seem to mind it.  Especially the ones in the river right now.  Hope your doing good Pat!