NHAngler

(Used) Boat prices - put your helmet on…

Rate this topic

36 posts in this topic

Used boats and RV’s… Put your helmet on as prices are falling! If you are buying, pay attention and consider waiting. If you are selling, no your email is working fine, but nobody is interested in overpaying for your 20 yo boat. Time to adjust expectations. 

For the dealers that have doubled prices over the past 2 years, I told you I this will end in a game of  rochambeau and I gots my steel toe boots on ready for round 1!

I bought a used RV and Boat within the last year and feel I paid a very reasonable amount for each. I was looking at used boats again the other night and saw some overpriced, and some reasonable deals. 

Posted (edited) · Report post

Not that I am studying the market in every aspect and/or region but I have been looking for 2 boats in particular with a little more than tire kicking prioritization. However, here are some reasons IMO that are and will drive down prices in the use (and eventually new) market:

1. Sharp rise in cost of gas. If the rise in gas were over a longer period, I doubt this would matter much to most, but we are very reactive creatures. Easy reason to list but very much in your face and the bigger the boat, the bigger the bill. If you could afford to fill up and cost you $1K last year, this. year you will pay 2K or simply use your boat less (see reason number 3 for what affects come from this choice). 

2. Rising overall costs of boat ownership. Beyond gas prices, boat slips, moorings, and other services are on the rise. Parts and repair costs have gone up and, in some cases, impossible to get service due to the demand and lack of help. 

3. Loss of use or less use by choice. Boat disabled with lengthy or unknown fix date, or you simply don't want to pay for gas... A sitting asset such as a boat will depreciate. Past couple of years has been an anomaly and boats typically lose value quickly and as they are toys (for most).