vce12342000

Pairing the types of wood to your meats ?

Rate this topic

24 posts in this topic

Im still new to the smoking game only coming from a propane grill. Im a little confused on the selection out there. Is it like pairing red or white wine to your fish & different meats  :headscratch:. Ive been cooking with primarily mesquite for everything. But I have used Apple & Hickory. or its all personal preference ? pfa only  

278574252_671824394078955_7586046301254768949_n.jpg

I encourage you to play around and learn the different taste profiles of each by doing the same cook multiple times while switching only the wood.  Choosing what wood to use is personal preference, but the rules of thumb exist for a reason.

Personally I don't like mesquite outside of hot and fast cooking red meat such as a burger; I think it is overpowering and bitter when used low and slow.  Hickory alone can be overpowering as well, but I use it to cook beef or lamb and often mix a smaller amount in with fruitwoods for pork.

Oak is good for most proteins but I rarely see it available as chunks (the form I need) near me.  I use cherry a lot and it provides an excellent color so some gets tossed in on most cooks I do.  I recently started using some pecan which I've been enjoying a lot; it's a bit milder than hickory but has a similar taste profile.

At some point I went from one cook=one wood type to mixing multiple types in the same cook after becoming familiar enough with their individual taste profiles to get a feel for what will mesh well.

Hey vce,

Good topic.