Richard_the_Aughth

Smoking fish

Rate this topic

106 posts in this topic

In anticipation of blues I will catch this year, I was considering getting a smoker. I'm looking for something low end but I don't know much about smokers. Any advice on what to look for?

2 mins ago, bob_G said:

What do you want to know, I've been smoking fish for 50 years. ;)

What do you recommend to start out with? From what I've seen there are many types of smokers, electric, gas, pellet, wood chips. Also, any must have features of a smoker you would recommend?

If you are only smoking fish, electric is cheap and easiest to maintain a low temp that fish requires. Don’t wait for bluefish,(awesome as they are) there are plenty of stocker trout that you can perfect your method on. And as Bob will attest are delicious in their own right. 

Personally I'd recommend a weber kettle grill.  Relatively cheap, works well enough to smoke things and can also function very well as a grill.  They are great starters to learn both smoking and cooking over charcoal.

I still have my first smoker.  Been smoking fish and ribs now for a couple years.   All I know is my propane smoker.  The biggest drawback I have is maintaining a constant low temp.  Also smoking on a freezing cold day can be troublesome as the propane just doesn't want to flow when it is cold.

Me and most of the people I know have pretty much the same model, which is the masterbuilt 30" smoker you can get at bass pro for a couple hundred bucks.
If I got another one I would probably go electric.

Check out the book "Project Smoke"   Worth buying to figure out what the differences are and then hang onto for all the recipes and ideas in it.
it even has instructions on smoking ice cream.

2 hours ago, giggyfish said: