fraggle

That never end quest .... best grease for reels

Rate this topic

30 posts in this topic

Hi guys I am new to this ... so please forgive me if I make mistakes. I am searching to find the best grease for the gears in a fixed spool reel !

I was reading scooby's post ...

"2017 has proven to be the year of the lube for me :)

Krytox 227

krytox 225

Tungsten disulfide

Corrosion x grease

Daiwa grease

Tossed royal purple in the trash"

Is that still the case?  and why are there two grades of Krytox ?

Thanks for your help!!!!

I’ve been using Superlube Teflon grease for a long time.  Always seems to protect and perform well. 

29 mins ago, DZ said:

I’ve been using Superlube Teflon grease for a long time.  Always seems to protect and perform well. 

Someone here recommended this to me last year or the year before when I was looking for a non petroleum grease for my Penn 720z & 722z.   

I've been really happy with it.  

The blue Penn grease always feels sluggish to me for a bit then loosens up with use.   The Superlube has been great from the start and has stayed great.  

Posted (edited)

This is what l have been using since the 90s along with their motor oil, you can use it right out of the tub or add oil for a winter blend to thin it out some.

About 10.00 for both.

62178a03a3190_ValvolineGreaseRed.png.27bd622bed040090f238900e0a6ff0c9.png

62178a0263b68_Valvolineoil.jpg.2c6e66cd846d0465d024bb96d4ba83a7.jpg

Edited by LB

I use yamaha blue marine, cals for drag, basic included oils or many years.

Cheap. Hasnt ever failed me. Dont see any reason to change. Im still using the tubs i got 10 years ago.  Even use it around the house for everything.

Lubricants arent the end all magically solution to fix everything.  Normal routine preventative maintenance is best.

If your fixed spool has bad gears already. Grease wont fix it.  Change the gears.

If it has a great working set, even dollar store grease will keep it running great.

Posted (edited)