Cav

Connecticut mudpuppy

Rate this topic

20 posts in this topic

Hello,

I hope everyone is doing well.  I am asking for some help from my fellow fisherman. I am a wildlife biologist specializing in reptiles and amphibians.  I work for Quinn Ecological and we are currently working on a mudpuppy study for the CT DEEP (further information about mudpuppies can be obtained from the CT DEEP website).  Our goals are to understand the distribution of mudpuppies in Connecticut as well as determine if they are a native or introduced species.  All research is being conducted under special permit issued by the State of Connecticut.  I am asking if any fisherman or other person has had observations of mudpuppies in CT waters.  If you are willing to share your observation, please PM me the information.  The information I am interested in is the month and year of the observation, the location, and a photograph if available.  Any question, feel free to ask.  Thanks for your time.

Jeff C.

1 hour ago, The Rappin One said:

Found one in May 2 years back all the way up the CT River in Holyoke

Thank you for the report.  Genetic analysis of mudpuppies from that stretch of the CT River has been recently conducted.  Results indicate an origin from the mid-western U.S.  Further research is needed.  Thanks again!

Jeff C

I had to look them to see what they were. 3 separate times on the Mumford river in Manchaug / Sutton in Ma. Must be a good 10 years since I last seen one . 

3 hours ago, KidDkivahh said:

I had to look them to see what they were. 3 separate times on the Mumford river in Manchaug / Sutton in Ma. Must be a good 10 years since I last seen one . 

Thanks very much for the report!  

1 hour ago, PSegnatelli said:

So other than the CT river. Where else can we expect to find them?

Any specific habitat types?