Fly Line for Fluke

Rate this topic

Jacks

Last summer I purchased airflo WF-8 intermediate super dri cold saltwater for fluke fishing in the summer. I never got around to using it and was wondering if anyone had ever used this line for fluke, or if they think it will work well. 

12 mins ago, BrianBM said:

Why would it not?  Any intermediate or sinking line's in the ballpark.

Im not an expert with fly lines and have never done much fishing with intermediate lines, so wasn't sure. Thanks for the info

It all depends on water depth and current speed. If I were flyrodding for fluke I could take home, I'd do it from a boat, and I'd use whatever gave me a decent drift with the fly within a foot or so of the bottom. Since I'm usually on shore, an intermediate will do me. It's my do-it-all line of choice. I don't target fluke, they're a bycatch that turn up when working a fly close to the bottom. 

6 mins ago, BrianBM said:

It all depends on water depth and current speed. If I were flyrodding for fluke I could take home, I'd do it from a boat, and I'd use whatever gave me a decent drift with the fly within a foot or so of the bottom. Since I'm usually on shore, an intermediate will do me. It's my do-it-all line of choice. I don't target fluke, they're a bycatch that turn up when working a fly close to the bottom. 

Yeah, interesting. I'm going to experiment going from a boat and from shore, see which works better. I use floating 90% of the time so intermediate will be a new experience

10 hours ago, Capt.Castafly said:

Full sink or heavy tip fly line....

Clouser Fly...

Boat required, unless you're fishing a breachway channel.

Great thanks. I was thinking of wading and casting to a drop off, will see if that works

1 hour ago, Jacks said:

Great thanks. I was thinking of wading and casting to a drop off, will see if that works