young

Fly rod setup for kayak?

48 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

2021 was frustrating to say the least with Albie fishing from the kayak for me. 

had a day with many chance but they were on rain bait that were less then 1 inch. There were about 6 boats that day and only the guy with the fly rod setup hooked up. 

so thinking for a while to get a fly setup for the kayak. 

what fly rod setup do you use on your kayak? 9’ 9wt? 8’ or 7’ or even shorter???

Please share your experience.  

by the way, I have zero experience with fly rod. 

Edited by young

Fly casting sufficiently in the salt isn't easy. Enjoy the journey! A fly cast is a smooth rapid acceleration to an abrupt stop, once you start you'll get it. Youtube videos are your friend. 

I have an 8 foot fly rod for the salt. It comes in 4 pieces. I use it mainly for blue fish. It is hard to cast

sitting down. Also need a  clear deck so you don't get caught up on stuff. Also hard to land a fish with an 8 foot rod in the kayak. It is an 8 weight fly rod.  You can catch blue fish trolling with your fly rod.

It is a little bit tricky to attach to a rod holder.  Some people find their pedal drive gets in the way when

fly fishing. I can not comment on that I have a paddle :)

14 mins ago, dbjpb said:

I have an 8 foot fly rod for the salt. It comes in 4 pieces. I use it mainly for blue fish. It is hard to cast

sitting down. Also need a  clear deck so you don't get caught up on stuff. Also hard to land a fish with an 8 foot rod in the kayak. It is an 8 weight fly rod.  You can catch blue fish trolling with your fly rod.

It is a little bit tricky to attach to a rod holder.  Some people find their pedal drive gets in the way when

fly fishing. I can not comment on that I have a paddle :)

Have you tried using shorter fly rod on the kayak. I find 8’ rod is too long for the kayak. 

what kind of fly line do you use? Sinking or floating?