FFSmasher

Newbie here

18 posts in this topic

Friend of mine introduced me to surf fishing a few years ago and I'm hooked. We're going to purchase Mirage Pro Angler 14's w/360 drives to expand on this hobby. I have a few questions I was hoping someone experienced would chime in. 

We're going to be fishing primarily just north of Boston in the Revere\Winthrop area with some freshwater thrown into the mix.

We're planning on purchasing...

Fish finders / chart plotters w/ GPS

PFD

Marine VHF radio

Is there anything absolutely crucial I am missing from this list?

Do you wear a tether in case you fall out of the yak?

Any recommendation on the screen size of the fish finder? Is bigger better on a yak when space is precious?

Appreciate any information. Thank you!

Try not to go overboard on purchasing accessories until you've been out a few times. 

Bigger is better for storage but the tradeoff is weight. Which translates to ease of setup and teardown. 

I don't think there's a hobbie on the market that you would need a leash for. If you're falling in the water, you're out in conditions that you shouldn't be out in. 

You can buy tethers for your rods but ide test it out a time or two before you make that decision. Many of us don't bother with that. Some do.

Your plans for purchase look good. Chart plotter, vhf and pfd are all essential.

Edited by EricM