b-ware

Salvaged Lumber

Rate this topic

34 posts in this topic

from this past summer. Some will be "barnboard" for a feature wall in my living room, some of it is different hardwoods and the rest is either pine 2x4s or pine boards.  All from salvaged pallets, used once and clean.......

DSC_0701.JPG

DSC_0699.JPG

DSC_0700.JPG

1 hour ago, Gilbey said:

Cool :th:

How do you check for random nails?? 

I take them apart myself so I can inspect each one closely.  I try to take pallets with softwood runners so the nails pull out easely and I can account for every one.  I know some guys who use  inexpensive metal detectors.  I have been doing this for about three years now and have been using a special "pallet buster" pry bar that works excellet separating the boards from the runners.  I might also add that in the past three years I have not changed my planer blade because of nail strikes. but I think they dullen faster on reclaimed wood than new wood although I think it's a small price to pay.

That's quite a nice mess o' wood ya got there B. I'm jealous, and can see lotsa projects there. I use a Little Wizard to check my reclaimed stuff before it goes near a saw or planer. I trust it to about 8/4 material, both sides scanned. I missed one nail once in twenty years. Cost me new planer blades.

Lesson learned, look harder. 

A friend has built a company just building stuff from pallets. He's got a couple of them de-nailer guns. Makes quick work of it. 

1 hour ago, Ben Lippen said:

That's quite a nice mess o' wood ya got there B. I'm jealous, and can see lotsa projects there. I use a Little Wizard to check my reclaimed stuff before it goes near a saw or planer. I trust it to about 8/4 material, both sides scanned. I missed one nail once in twenty years. Cost me new planer blades.

Lesson learned, look harder. 

A friend has built a company just building stuff from pallets. He's got a couple of them de-nailer guns. Makes quick work of it.