Sandflee

New Smokepole

Rate this topic

45 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

Well i guess the wife agrees a man can't have too many guns so as a gift she bought me the Traditons Vortek Strikeforce. I'm a newbie to muzzleloaders and i'm pumped as it open up another 1-2 weeks of late deer season December 13-21st and new for this year December 26-Jan 1

any tips on cleaning this thing?

Screen Shot 2021-10-22 at 8.23.54 AM.png

Edited by Sandflee

Nice gun. 

The cool thing is the breech plug is removable. Just take it out and clean away. The crown is recessed so of you insert the cleaning rod from the muzzle you wont do anything to the crown or muzzle. I've been partial to the TC product line to clean. #13 bore cleaner has been good to me and they have a #17 also. remember to wipe the threads on the breech before  re- installing the breech plug and always use breech plug lube/anti seize. After cleaning and before putting the breech plug back in  I also run a patch of "natralube1000" to protect the bore. BP is very corrosive but fun to shoot. My dad had  a bunch of screw top medicine tubes about a pinky round with MM lines. I preload a bunch at home using the adjustable powder measurer, a small funnel and my can of Pyrodex RS. Makes it easier at the range. 

HAVE FUN!

i love shooting the BP guns because it's not just pulling a trigger. There is more that goes into it which to me makes it fun. You have to find the right load of powder that works with the bullet you choose and your particular gun. 

Me and the boys have both TC impact inlines and a CVA wolf. 

33 mins ago, WorcBoy said:

Nice gun.