Recommendations for Conventional Setup for Jetty Tog

Rate this topic

Last_Cast

Hey guys, I'm looking for recommendations for a conventional setup for togging the NJ jetties. My budget is in the $300 range. My current setup is a spinning outfit (9' rod with Tsunami SaltX600 spooled with 40# braid). I'm looking to switch to a conventional rig to give my right shoulder a break (biceps tendinitis).

I have ZERO experience with conventional reels, but I'm willing to put in the time to learn. I'm looking hard the Penn Squall Low Profile line, specifically the high speed models due to the faster retrieve, which I think would be beneficial in getting those tog up out of the rocks quickly. As for rods, I would like to stay in the 9-10' range - I like the longer rods because I feel I get more vertical angles when dropping into those closer holes. I would love any input and advise here.

Am I on the right track with the Penn Squall Low Profile, or should I look at the Penn Squall II Star Drag? Which particular model/size of the would you recommend? Which rods would you guys pair these reels with?

Thanks!

Penn Fathom is all metal. Squall is graphite. On the rocks, I would go with metal because graphite and hard contact with rocks may not end well.

Either way, star drag.

If you drop $200 on a Fathom that leaves about enough for a Tsunami rod. 

"Depend not on fortune, but on conduct."

I use and can recommend Abu ambassadeurs 5000 or 6000 size with 20 or 30 lb. braid.  The 5000 size holds about 300 yards of 20 lb. braid. The 6000 size holds about 300 yards of 30 lb. braid.  5500c3, 6500c3, 5600c4, 6600c4 is all you need. C3 has a push button and 5.3:1 gears. C4 has thumb bar and I think 6.3:1 gears. Your choice. Anything similar like an akios for example is just as good.  I’m not familiar with the penn squalls that you speak of but maybe just as good. 
I have no advice on the rod since I’m using a 7 ft. St. Croix casting from shore, dock.  No jetty.