Jcab83

Getting into surf fishing

Rate this topic

22 posts in this topic

Hi I’m just getting into surf fishing and was wondering if anyone had recommendations on any plugs I should be packing my bag with. Thanks in advance. 

Posted (edited) · Report post

Welcome!!

We all have our favs. 

Here are mine.  

For plugs mine are...

Metal Lips like Danny or Donny.  Redfins. Needlefish.   Stuff that doesn't require alot of extra rod actions to get them to work.  Simple cast and retrieve. Maybe a twitch here and there.  

Metals!! These are my favorite.  3/4-1oz Kastmaster.  I love silver, silver/blue and silver/green. Buy the cheaper plain trebel hook models. Ditch the hook (they suck)  buy some dressed siwash hooks and put them on. 

Charlie Graves J series in tin. These need nothing.  Pick your size! I like J1- J3. J5 is about as heavy as I go. 

Point Jude Wobble Eel jig.  It's all black and I wish it were shiny.  Anyways, 3/4oz is my fav.  I'll stick something like a Sluggo on it or a long GULP bait. (6in grub. Sandeel etc)  

Jigs!  Either plain with plastic tail or dressed with bucktail.  Dan Tinman here in the Commerical BST makes a great jig.  Great hook and ties the the bucktails really full. Either leave like that or trim to your liking!   

Frankly, a plain jig head with either a paddle tail shad or a curly tail grub will catch fish just about anywhere and are simple cast and reel in lures. 

I keep a pocket sized tackle box in my car.  Has a few different jig weights say 1/2oz to 1 1/2oz, a pouch of GULP 4in swimming mullets, few metals, rod & reel and a leatherman tool for times of unexpected fishing. 

What part of the state are you in? We can direct u to awesome shops.   

Support your local shop!!!  So they'll be there when u need them.  

Edited by PSegnatelli

Wade in slowly, figuratively, and literally. This gets expensive, fast. Always make sure you're having fun. 

Oh and buy anything that includes the word "Beachmaster" - (half joking)