spitzlure14

Can you make fly rods out of spin rods?

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

Hi, I’m new to fly fishing and I was wondering if anyone makes fly rods out of old spin rods?

If so, how do you estimate the rod wt and how do you select rods in general?

Thanks 

Posted (edited) · Report post

Go to the search field and poke around in old two hand (TH) rod threads.  Carp spinning rods are often used.  Specialty blanks from some manufacturers can be o.k. provided that they have sufficient power and stiff tips.  Forum members RedGreen and Mike Oliver can help you out depending on what you are trying to accomplish.

Or start here, and follow the links to other threads:

Eventually you will find this thread...it's a must read.

Edited by Killiefish

I built two fly rods this spring out of two different 7’6” Rodgeeks blanks. They both throw 9-10 line wts. They are similar to the old g loomis short stix. 

66C597B5-E5F2-4C8E-924D-204EDF0DD892.jpeg

On a conventional surf rod you can add a reel seat to the bottom of the butt.  Have two reel seats and use it as a Combo. Surf  don’t even touch the guides. 

On 9/18/2021 at 1:10 PM, spitzlure14 said:

Hi, I’m new to fly fishing and I was wondering if anyone makes fly rods out of old spin rods?

Thanks 

you do not need to strip anything,just ad fly reel on any spining rod and can use that as fly rod.

or you can use spining reel for fly fishing.

you do not need fly line you can use 40# big game mono on any reel and main think what make the fly fishing,buy shooting head,floating,sinking,intermediate,what ever you like and that will fish like 2handed fly rod,much easier fishing ,same fishing but les work.

main think you have to find what is maximum load for that rod.

how heavy sinker can you cast with that rod,then you convert grams to grain and now you know what weight shooting head you need.

i prefer fly reel seat like spining rod seat high not low,it work beter.

Posted (edited) · Report post