Snapper Popper

Jamaica Bay Kayak Fishing NOOB

7 posts in this topic

I am new to kayak fishing and I have gotten myself set up with gear and I am planning on doing some fishing in Jamaica Bay during the fall run.  I took this kayak out a few times this summer and fished the ocean but the water has been way too rough.  Aside from tide/water conditions I am looking for any info I may need to know especially good areas to launch that has parking in the Rockaway/Breezy/South Brooklyn areas.  Also any equipment I may not have thought of or other safety information).  I'll be using a 13 ft. ocean kayak with a 7 and 6-foot rod and no anchor or motor.  Currently outfitted with an emergency paddle, rope, first aid kit, safety strobe, PFD, and wetsuit set up.  Any information would be much appreciated, thanks!

Welcome. Your first point of call would probably be Floyd Bennett Field … a convenient spot which opens up lots of possibilities (Google Maps is your friend). CrossBay Kiteboarding Launch area is a great option but limited parking. A third option (even better) is to spend $100 pa and get a Gateway Beach Parking pass … definitely worth it if you get into the sport. The forth option = Google Maps is your friend … I have found a few little known official launch spots as well as ninja spots by using GM and driving to physically recce them - don’t be stoopid and do anything that threatens the access for everyone else! Start off using the free options and naturally progress to the next level if the bug bites you. Good luck :th:

12 hours ago, Africaster said: