Elaztech (Zman) baits melting

Rate this topic

Johnsmyname

I’m new to these baits and just learning that the Elaztech material doesn’t mix well with other plastics and will melt. How volatile is this? Can I use on a bucktail with plastic hair or a rubber skirt? Can the baits be left on the bucktail or do they need to be pulled off after fishing and stored in the bag? I usually store all my rubber baits in some leftover Gulp liquid, can Elaztech be stored in this liquid? 

11 mins ago, Johnsmyname said:

I’m new to these baits and just learning that the Elaztech material doesn’t mix well with other plastics and will melt. How volatile is this? Can I use on a bucktail with plastic hair or a rubber skirt? Can the baits be left on the bucktail or do they need to be pulled off after fishing and stored in the bag? I usually store all my rubber baits in some leftover Gulp liquid, can Elaztech be stored in this liquid? 

I keep them in the iriginal bag with jigheads on (unpainted,non-fancy jigheads) and they really, really do not like to be stored in a hot car.

10 mins ago, Callmefish said:

I keep them in the iriginal bag with jigheads on (unpainted,non-fancy jigheads) and they really, really do not like to be stored in a hot car.

... that said I'll add 2 cents and say that they are great action lures, a super durable on the hook and long lasting product if handled right.  I think they are worth the extra annoyance in some circumstances.  

12 mins ago, 55555s said:

... that said I'll add 2 cents and say that they are great action lures, a super durable on the hook and long lasting product if handled right.  I think they are worth the extra annoyance in some circumstances.  

I’m excited to try them, they look great. The fact they float paired with a swingtail jig I’m thinking I can impart some great action on them. 

That said, I’m fine dealing with any extra annoyance, just don’t want to mess up a bunch of tackle learning the intricacies if I can just ask here.