Dragonbob

Three beginners in cheap kayaks, what could go wrong?

16 posts in this topic

Hey there folks, I'm new to kayaking in the salt as well as saltwater fishing in general. I made plans with some friends to go kayak fishing out of Waterford CT. Mostly going for porgies maybe some tautog, will be staying within a mile of shore. The question is what resources do you guys use to check conditions? I really don't know much about waves, tides, winds, etc and I'm trying to find some resources that will help with that. Do you guys check for wave height or tides before going out? Is there anything to look out for particularly? How windy is too windy? Do solunar tables actually matter? 
Not sure if it really helps but two of us are in tamarack angler 100s and one in a sit-inside field and stream fishing kayak. We have all kayaked before but I'm the only one who has been in the ocean and in this area. Any advice helps, just really trying to have some (safe) fun and fill a cooler or two. Thank you all.

The only way you will learn is going out there.  Don't die. 

Use **** app. Blue and purple is normally great, green can be ok with protection. 15 plus in your face with no protection is not desirable. Even 10 knots all night across a sound can be choppy and not fun. 

Opinion alert.

Wind - For now, 10mph should be you cut-off point with 5mph and under, your sweet spot… as you get comfortable after multiple trips, your confidence will grow and you can start incrementally increasing until your enjoyment tipping point is reached.

Waves - I feel it’s the interval between waves which is my decider … big swells are not an issue as long as there is a decent interval between them (and they’re not breaking of course) … anything over 5s is good for any size swell.