fishBAD

Salvaging a damaged blank

Rate this topic

5 posts in this topic

I'm relatively new at this.  I accidentally cut the blank vertically.  It's in a spot where I can hide the cut under the reel seat.  I would think that once slathered in epoxy and protected in the handle assembly it should be serviceable.  My question is is it will it be?  Or is the blank forever compromised?  Am I better off getting a new blank?  

Did the cut you described pierce the wall of the blank?

It may be salvageable. However, it could fail at any time if the rod is placed under heavy load.

Since the damage is under the reel seat try the following steps.

1. Coat the area of the break with Gel Super Glue and let cure.  

2. Wrap A thread over the break one inch beyond each end. Apply a thin coat of finish and let cure.

3. Repeat Step 2.

4. Use dry wall fiberglass mesh tape saturated with epoxy glue for your reel seat arbors.

5. Let cure for two days.

6. Glue on the reel seat.

7 hours ago, Al Goldberg said:

Did the cut you described pierce the wall of the blank?

It may be salvageable. However, it could fail at any time if the rod is placed under heavy load.

Since the damage is under the reel seat try the following steps.

1. Coat the area of the break with Gel Super Glue and let cure.  

2. Wrap A thread over the break one inch beyond each end. Apply a thin coat of finish and let cure.

3. Repeat Step 2.

4. Use dry wall fiberglass mesh tape saturated with epoxy glue for your reel seat arbors.

5. Let cure for two days.

6. Glue on the reel seat.