Avataq

Tenkara

Rate this topic

8 posts in this topic

Any other Tenkara fishermen here?  I've been using Tenkara gear for several years, mostly on small to medium sized trout waters, but also for river smallmouths, and on ponds.  I prefer furled lines, but I am looking for suggestions on a lightweight floating line to use on trout waters.

I have been tenkara fishing for about 6 seasons.  try 65# white spiderwire invisibraid or stealth.  It can be coaxed to sink, but will sit on top of the water. I think those products are dyneema.   I have been using it for about 3 seasons.   If you want a line that is more than 1.5 x your rod length.  Make a line with 80# and 65# ...60/40%. nail knotted....

A traditional flyline will be way to heavy and thick for tenkara.  At certain point you are better off with a flyrod.  

For me the engineering of tenkara is best suited for small stream fishing.  So much more efficient and a better tool than a traditional flyrod.

I got a floater from zen tenkara. Its great, super light, doesn’t sag if you anchor your fly, last couple feet are furled with a tippet ring. Cinch tag for easy rigging. 

All that being said, its hard to beat 3.5 level line. Fun to try new gear tho so go for it. Its cheap. Super fun way to fish when hiking with my girls. 

13 hours ago, puppet said:

I have been tenkara fishing for about 6 seasons.  try 65# white spiderwire invisibraid or stealth.  It can be coaxed to sink, but will sit on top of the water. I think those products are dyneema.   I have been using it for about 3 seasons.   If you want a line that is more than 1.5 x your rod length.  Make a line with 80# and 65# ...60/40%. nail knotted....

A traditional flyline will be way to heavy and thick for tenkara.  At certain point you are better off with a flyrod.  

For me the engineering of tenkara is best suited for small stream fishing.  So much more efficient and a better tool than a traditional flyrod.

Regarding the text in red.