PeteA

Carmens River - Long Island

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

As saltwater surf casting has been a little spotty of late I’m think of switching my attention to fresh water fly for a bit. I’m new to Long Island and have read about the Carmens River. Any one have any experience fishing there? Type of water, wide, narrow, calm, deep, riffles, hatches this time of year. I’m targeting the Carmens because I prefer moving around the stream a bit, VS being combined to a beat w/ a time limit. Any intel would be greatly appreciated boys. 

I'm from Patchogue, if you're a serious trout fisherman, you are going to be severely disappointed by Carmens River.  It's kinda like a little ditch that meanders through some sandy "forest".  At least that's the way I remember it.  Best thing to do is just go check it out.

4 hours ago, Oakman said:

I'm from Patchogue, if you're a serious trout fisherman, you are going to be severely disappointed by Carmens River.  It's kinda like a little ditch that meanders through some sandy "forest".  At least that's the way I remember it.  Best thing to do is just go check it out.

Any other suggestions? I used to live in Westchester. 20 min from the croton watershed. Really nice tail water close to home. I’m spoiled! 

11 mins ago, PeteA said:

Any other suggestions? I used to live in Westchester. 20 min from the croton watershed. Really nice tail water close to home. I’m spoiled! 

Ha!  I moved from Brooklyn to Peekskill last year before the shutdown. Sorry, I never fished anything but salt on LI. But shoot me a pm, I have no idea what I have around here and would love some guidance. 

Posted (edited) · Report post

I grew up fishing the Carmins a long time ago. It is a rich spring creek with a long history and well educated trout in the catch and release section. The Nissequogue is another fine choice.

(link removed - Gilbey)

Edited by Gilbey