Drew C.

Vise - What do you use?

Rate this topic

56 posts in this topic

I'm just curious. I haven't been able to fish so I'm a bit bored. I tie on a Renzetti Master. I've had it for close to 25 years at this point. Midge jaws are a recent addition and they've been good since I haven't tied anything bigger than trout stuff recently. The standard jaws made small stuff a little harder.

1 hour ago, Drew C. said:

I'm just curious. I haven't been able to fish so I'm a bit bored. I tie on a Renzetti Master. I've had it for close to 25 years at this point. Midge jaws are a recent addition and they've been good since I haven't tied anything bigger than trout stuff recently. The standard jaws made small stuff a little harder.

I have a renzetti master that is in the 25 year old vintage as well. 

My first decent vice was an HMH spartan when I did only trout flies. Next up was dyna king pro vice when I had a need for more saltwater sized hooks. The renzetti was a gift from my wife. I think it was pre - kids. 

She used to just call the fishing manager at Ramsey outdoors that I was close with and say what does he want. He would take care of it. 

I got a couple of Pate reels a couple sage rods and the renzetti vice out of that connection. 

Posted (edited) · Report post

Stonfo Transformer.  Love this vise!

3 vises in one, change heads in seconds.

15991_2_.jpg.b52913ee3d939d290304f5d881a1b3ca.jpg

Edited by HillTop

I finally bought a premium vise this year after decades in the game. I picked up a Regal Revolution that will undoubtedly out live me. 

I started with a stamped metal Boy Scout kit vise, moved to a Sunrise that I got at the Sports Authority, then graduated to an Anvil Apex. 

Below is the evolution to the Revolution. 

evol.jpg

Edited by DAQ

Dyna-King Barracuda - I never won anything in a bucket raffle; wife won that and two rods at the only event she ever attended.