puppet

bluefish

Rate this topic

33 posts in this topic

I am new to flyfishing and noticed I can land bluefish without the use of wire...with a decent conversion ratio, but reflecting on the mechanics it is surprising as most hooksets are in the mouth corner and when the fish is going in the other direction or away, the line must be across its mouth. I am trying to understand how this doesnt result in immediate failure.

I dont like using wire, but am wondering how many of you will use it when you know blues are present.  if so, what do you use?

When bluefish are around you have a few options.

Wire is one and a good one if you want to fight and land the bluefish.

Heavy fluro (50# or so) if the blues are mixed with bass and you still want to maximize your odds with the bass

My personal favorite - use flies you don't really care about, many guys will keep a supply of old or beat up flies to donate to the bluefish gods

Finally if the blues are mixed with Albies you do nothing different merely changing your normally pure vocabulary

Posted (edited) · Report post

23 mins ago, puppet said:

I am new to flyfishing and noticed I can land bluefish without the use of wire...with a decent conversion ratio, but reflecting on the mechanics it is surprising as most hooksets are in the mouth corner and when the fish is going in the other direction or away, the line must be across its mouth. I am trying to understand how this doesnt result in immediate failure.

I dont like using wire, but am wondering how many of you will use it when you know blues are present.  if so, what do you use?