fishhawkxxx

Can skinny people cast?

Rate this topic

62 posts in this topic

Are there any small guys that tournament cast? The ones I see that can really cast are big guys. I'm 5'10".165 lbs. And be damed if I can't hit over 120 yds. Do you have to be a heavy weight?

Will Nash is regular-sized & presently holds many of the US long-casting records. But you are correct many of the best are stocky, low center of gravity - on the other hand, Neil Mackellow was just big.

Posted (edited) · Report post

13 hours ago, fishhawkxxx said:

Are there any small guys that tournament cast? The ones I see that can really cast are big guys. I'm 5'10".165 lbs. And be damed if I can't hit over 120 yds. Do you have to be a heavy weight?

You can definitely do better, 5'10 165lbs be damned.

Find someone to help you / go for some lessons and then practice. Long casters practice.

Edited by ZAFisher

Thanks, that's why I'm asking I've been practicing hard for 3 years and still 100-120 yds every time! But yea I realize I need form coaching . Was just hopping it was my small frame, yes Will Nashcrushed that theory. Lol