nchit

3WT FLY REEL SUGGESTIONS/RECOMENDATIONS

Rate this topic

20 posts in this topic

Looking for some recommendations for a decent 3WT reel for panfish and trout

I am a fly noob and have been told by many that I should keep in mind the reel is only holding the line spend more on the fly line

I don't know if I'd like a click n paw as my current fly outfit is a 5wt with a drag knob

Any help is much appreciated      

Posted (edited) · Report post

Pflueger Medalist 1492  - get an older US made reel off the big auction site if you can. 

For a lot more money, Ross Colorado

These are click-pawls - a medalist 1494 has an adjustable drag if you don't want a click-pawl. 

Edited by MooreLyonQuick

I’m a fan of the current Ross line-up and fish three different “small reels” they offer, good stuff IMO... 

Colorado 2/3 - I fish it on a 6’6” 3wt

Animas 4/5 - I fish it on a 7’ 4wt

Evolution LTX 3/4- I fish it on a 8’4” 4wt

Another decent reel I have for my daughter is a Waterworks - Lamson Guru S -3+, I have that on a 8’6” 4wt. Nice lil reel...

My father uses Galvan reels. I think he has two different Brookies and a few different Rush Lights and Torques. These are all solid as well.