hunter123

Cape Henlopen

Rate this topic

7 posts in this topic

Hi, I'm heading down to the Cape Thursday morning. I plan to do some fly fishing. Has anyone been fly fishing there recently, whats running , how did you do. I was going to IRI, but it's really slow there. But I need the practice casting an intermeadiat line. I'm kinda new to saltwater FF. I belong to the Fly fishing club in DE. Oh, should I use a intermeadiat or a floating line. Thanks. 

Weakfish and flounder are around.  I’m sure the saltwater fly club guys are in to them.  If on the flats at Cape, I’d go with a floating line.

IRI may be slow, but the back bay fishing for shorts is probably on fire.

Posted (edited) · Report post

58 mins ago, Kbetts said:

Weakfish and flounder are around.  I’m sure the saltwater fly club guys are in to them.  If on the flats at Cape, I’d go with a floating line.

IRI may be slow, but the back bay fishing for shorts is probably on fire.

Thank you. floating line it is. How long of a leader should I uae on the floater. I use about 4' to 6' on the sinking line.  Would I need a boat for the back bays.

Edited by hunter123

I only use about a six foot leader of either one piece or maybe with a stiff butt section added.  Water clarity can vary but I don’t overthink it.  I’ve used intermediate lines, but it’s usually pretty shallow and any weighted fly is enough to get to the bottom.  Back bay you would be better off with a boat, although there is access along the highway south of Dewey.  Only fished it by running across from the other side though.

Posted (edited) · Report post

I want to than you again. I'm heading down tomorrow. I like the idea of a 6' leader. What lb test would you recomend. Tight lines.

Edited by hunter123

I’ll use anything from 12-15# up to maybe 20.  I’ll use 40# mono as a butt section occasionally.