Rate this topic

36 posts in this topic

As you folks can probably tell I am new to the salt water baitcasters.  I have an Abu 7000 that is in excellent shape. The only thing I don’t like about it is the level wind. Will it hurt anything if i disengage or remove the level wind? Thanks in advance. Mike.

Not at all, in fact a lot of people do. But to convert it you need to add a spacer bar to the frame, or see if you can locate an ABU CT cage and just swap the whole frame. Tons of stuff you can do to that reel. Adding bearings is a nice touch too if the 7000 you have is a bushing reel.  

9 hours ago, Big Dave said:

Not at all, in fact a lot of people do. But to convert it you need to add a spacer bar to the frame, or see if you can locate an ABU CT cage and just swap the whole frame. Tons of stuff you can do to that reel. Adding bearings is a nice touch too if the 7000 you have is a bushing reel.  

I don’t know a whole lot about it. Yet. Guess it’s time to do some research. Thanks!

Jerry Foran of Hookless used to sell Foran bars. Some folks would cut and drill an aluminum dowel.  Then there is the ct. frame if you can find one. 

Post a WTB thread in the best forum. 

Posted (edited) · Report post

One more thing,  you can remove the line carriage and worm gear for now and just leave the worm gear cover until something else comes along :howdy:

Edited by jimmy z

On 6/14/2021 at 8:37 AM, mtl50 said:

As you folks can probably tell I am new to the salt water baitcasters.  I have an Abu 7000 that is in excellent shape. The only thing I don’t like about it is the level wind. Will it hurt anything if i disengage or remove the level wind? Thanks in advance. Mike.

Maybe keep the Abu stock and use for another fishing method. You can prob get a Penn Squall Mag for the same price as the conversion accessories and have two good setups. BTW, I use levelwinds for surf casting all of the time with zero issues.