Rate this topic

12 posts in this topic

As you folks can probably tell I am new to the salt water baitcasters.  I have an Abu 7000 that is in excellent shape. The only thing I don’t like about it is the level wind. Will it hurt anything if i disengage or remove the level wind? Thanks in advance. Mike.

Just now, mtl50 said:

As you folks can probably tell I am new to the salt water baitcasters.  I have an Abu 7000 that is in excellent shape. The only thing I don’t like about it is the level wind. Will it hurt anything if i disengage or remove the level wind? Thanks in advance. Mike.

I don’t blame you.  I took mine off too.  I did not have much success casting with that reel though.  You’d be better off with a 6500 unless you are targeting large fish 

3 mins ago, mtl50 said:

I don't see why not, though you would have to figure out what to replace the openenings with. I could have sworn there were CT conversion kits available. You might want to look into those.  Or, just buy a new CT reel. They are cheap enough that you shouldn't have to mangle with your CL.

41 mins ago, mtl50 said:

Did you try to clean it up and lube it?

35 mins ago, Birdsnester said:

I don’t blame you.  I took mine off too.  I did not have much success casting with that reel though.  You’d be better off with a 6500 unless you are targeting large fish 

I also have a 7000i ct c3 mag. I am still learning the saltwater bait caster‘s but with that reel on my 11 foot Lami and 4 ounces I can get over 100 yards. With the 7000 I lose quite a bit. I am looking for a 6500 and I am going to post in the WTB later today. 

Also you can swap the level wind gear out for a ball bearing level wind gear which makes a huge difference

With the right rod and a Roberts Ranger plug I could nearly reach the backing with my 6500 Mag Elite with BB levelwind with 30 lb Berkeley Stealth braid

34 mins ago, Sudsy said: