BoLin

What Kind of Power Winch Should I Buy for My Boat Trailer

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

Been hand cranking my boats onto trailers for the last 25 years or so but, due to some medical issues, looks like those days are gone.  (At least for the immediate future.) 

I have zero experience with power winches and know even less about them.  Any and all info / recommendations anyone can share would be greatly appreciated. 

I have a 20' Grady (total weight loaded is about 3,000#) on a virtually new Load-Rite tandem trailer.  The Q's I know I need answers to are below.  I also know there are likely things I haven't even thought of yet.

-  What brand(s) of winches seem to hold up well? 

- I assume I need to get a winch rated for at least 4,000 #.  Is that enough excess capacity?

-  Is a cable or strap better for a smaller boat like mine?

-  Any idea where  I can get the tow vehicle wired to run the winch?  (Someplace like Pep Boys, auto electric shop' travel trailerler dealer???)

And like I said, anything I haven't thought of yet.A

Thx, in advance for any and all assistance

pioneeratsea ... What size / kind of boat are you pulling with the Powerwinch 915?  Someone local to me suggested the Powerwinch 912.

On 5/24/2021 at 11:48 AM, BoLin said:

Been hand cranking my boats onto trailers for the last 25 years or so but, due to some medical issues, looks like those days are gone.  (At least for the immediate future.) 

I have zero experience with power winches and know even less about them.  Any and all info / recommendations anyone can share would be greatly appreciated. 

I have a 20' Grady (total weight loaded is about 3,000#) on a virtually new Load-Rite tandem trailer.  The Q's I know I need answers to are below.  I also know there are likely things I haven't even thought of yet.

-  What brand(s) of winches seem to hold up well? 

- I assume I need to get a winch rated for at least 4,000 #.  Is that enough excess capacity?