gonfishin

Casting Distance w/9wt set up

Rate this topic

72 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

I'm new to fly fishing this spring , fishing mostly from a Kayak, always in saltwater for Striped Bass/ Bluefish. I also practice standing on the sod banks. I own a 9' 9wt with Rio Quick shooter line.  I know theres a lot that goes into learning to cast and its  a process, and it should get better i hope. 

How far should i be able to cast a 4-6" fly.  So far been able to cast so i get 5-10' of the purple fly line off the rod. So i've managed a 30' cast , maybe .i've also learned to mend line to get more line in the water for a longer retrieve. No fish caught yet.

Edited by gonfishin

That depends on where the fish are or should be.Alot depends on the setup you are using and the flies you want to use.Casting well into a hoola hoop at 50' should put you into most situations.Many here can toss the entire line if needed.But,80% of your fish will be alot closer.Fishing the beach at certain times you have to stand back from the water because the fish are at your feet or within 25'.

I’m not sure what advice to give you.  I’ve been fly fishing for over 40 years, but I can’t relate to the idea of learning to cast a saltwater outfit before learning basic casting on a trout-sized setup, and with a more conventional fly line.  The fact that you’re casting from a kayak adds still another variable.  Some will disagree with me, but I think you’re putting the cart before the horse.

There’s no disadvantage to o being able to cast far. A 60’ cast in nice conditions quickly becomes 30’ (or less) when the wind kicks up. Also, a 60’ cast with a crap town of effort isn’t very good. 

As said above, take a lesson, find a friend that’s a good caster. Ed Jaworowski’s books are about as good as you can get in print. Plenty of video options as well.