MaxKatt

"Take Job or Lose Benefits." - Joe Biden order to Labor Dept.

Rate this topic

52 posts in this topic

1)  Contrary to the thread suggesting restaurants can't staff up because people are sitting home collecting benefits... per below...there has never been any evidence this conservative myth is true.

2)  And while disputing the myth of people passing up jobs to collect benefits, Biden ordered the Labor Department to ensure it isn't happening.  

Screen Shot 2021-05-11 at 11.34.52 AM.png

Screen Shot 2021-05-11 at 11.29.52 AM.png

Screen Shot 2021-05-11 at 11.30.26 AM.png

Screen Shot 2021-05-11 at 11.28.44 AM.png

Screen Shot 2021-05-11 at 11.29.17 AM.png

I'm a manufacturing engineer and do a lot of hiring/firing. Some of our factory jobs are minimum wage where you just need the basic use if your frontal cortex to do the job. I've lost count of how many people turned down jobs admittedly because they would make more on unemployment. They said this to my face.

In addition, we get hundreds of applications through Indeed on a weekly basis. Out of all the applications we pull and arrange an in person interview, maybe 1 out of 20 actually show up. After opining about this to some other manufacturing friends over beers, one shook his head knowingly and told me it's a known thing; unemployed people applying to every job in their area on job sites with no intention of taking the job just so they can prove to unemployment that they've been looking and applying for jobs.

If Biden is serious about this, all the better. However let's not pretend that it's a myth that people are turning down jobs for unemployment benefits.

1 min ago, occidentalist said:

I'm a manufacturing engineer and do a lot of hiring/firing. Some of our factory jobs are minimum wage where you just need the basic use if your frontal cortex to do the job. I've lost count of how many people turned down jobs admittedly because they would make more on unemployment. They said this to my face.