3 Generations

Pikie Vs. Danny

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

I don't really fish metal lips much, mostly darters and poppers. However, I have used Dannys with good luck. Can anyone tell me the difference between a Pikie and a Danny? I've heard different guys say different things about them. Just want to get a better understanding of the difference and their use.

Thanks! Good Luck in the Surf!

I'm by no means an expert, but Dannys have a flat nose and tend to be surface swimmers only. Pikies have a sloped head and can be surface swam at slower retrieves and subsurface with a faster retrieve. 

Posted (edited) · Report post

Surface pikie swims head down ass up and it makes a big wake and noise . A Danny has more of a s pattern to its swim .. A surface pikie is chin weighted between the lip and first hook , a Danny is usually weighted center or a bit off center towards the rear .  

Edited by extreme fisherman

I agree with all the comments above, but no one mentioned the lip profile.  All Danny's had and have a z-lip, which functions vey well i current speed lower than that which calls for a Bottle Plug or Darter ( the latter being used in fast rips).  I do not look at "modern day" pikies, so I cannot speak to their lip profile, but the original surf fishing Pikie was the Creek Chub Surfster, which had the original cup lip.  This lip made it very effective in currents too slow for the danny to have good action at the traditional "slow down stupid" retrieve speed.  I was very disappointed when Crek Chub reintroduced the Surfster, but with the z-lip. it had great action in faster, i.e., Danny speed current, but not in slow (think redfin) current.  Fortunately, although I retired my two remaining original, albeit repainted/epoxied Surfsters, I still fish Bob Hahn's plugs after epoxying them with Flex-Coat Lite epoxy.

Attached picture is of my remaining two original Surfsters

0302191709.jpg

0302191707.jpg

21 mins ago, FlatWing said: