MikeK

Suspending Jerk/Minnow Baits For Trout and Eyes

28 posts in this topic

I am looking for suspending minnow baits in the range of 2.5 to 3.5 inches to use for trout and walleye in a lake with a primary forage base of landlocked silversides.  Based on the forage, i like the thinner profile like the pins.  I have some older suspending  yozuris and thought they made the pins in a suspending version, but cant seem to find them anywhere.  It occurred to me that there are a whole new group of minnow/jerkbaits other than rebel, rapala and yozuri, that i have no experience with.  Anybody have any recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

I have tried a few brands of suspending jerk baits for walleye, but I always come back to the Rapala HJ and always in size 14.

I can not answer to trout though.

Husky Jerks are good lures. 

I like Lucky Craft pointers 78sp.  65sp if you can find them.

Since you have silversides i'd consider the lures mentioned

above in a metallic finish.

g'luck.

I will also point out that if you want big walleye consider that the bigger walleye are probably eating plenty of bigger forage and will be more apt to strike a lure bigger then 2in to 3in.

Trout, suckers, carp, bass, etc... are all on a big walleye's menu.

5 hours ago, Beastly Backlash said:

I will also point out that if you want big walleye consider that the bigger walleye are probably eating plenty of bigger forage and will be more apt to strike a lure bigger then 2in to 3in.

Trout, suckers, carp, bass, etc... are all on a big walleye's menu.