East Tide

Buzzards Bay- Pedal Drive Kayak- Stony Point- Newbie

13 posts in this topic

Hey all, 

Been fishing the canal hard since the 90's (when breaking tides we're not crazy and you could always count on spots being open at night!!!)  and now live out of state. Pulled the trigger on a Old Town Sportsman 120 PDL (not salty) for tarpon fishing in FL and going to be taking it back to the Cape this summer. 

Couple questions about buzzards bay- If you were to launch at Macos or maybe Onset/ Wareham (think you can?) what kind of window around slack do you have before it would be dangerous/ impossible to pedal back against a tide if you were to get out to Codman Point (what google maps calls it)? My goal would be to fish the east to west change, and float out around that point, maybe along the Stony Dike. As much as I'd like to fish the shore of Hog Island I don't think there is any access to launch? All may very well be a bad idea, I'm a newbie. 

I can't seem to find the exact location of the "Federally maintained limits of the Cape Cod Canal." 

Any advice without infringing on the spot detail rules would be appreciated. 

I fish mostly out of the boat from the West End launching out of Onset. I regularly see kayaks in Onset and Over to Codman Point. 
This is all doable. Current reasonable, I would say doable with the PDL. Stay into the pools and get s feel for it. Obvious boat traffic during the day may be less at night. Ease into night mode there from later afternoon or evening and fish into the black.

I have had the yak chasing Albacore along the Dike. Look into launching little harbor beach safer option in there and ease out. Bring your cart If you need to bail you can always cross the dike area and get back into protection.

2954DC62-DCA5-4EE2-90B8-62AE18E96084.png