Avet SX for Yak

Rate this topic

coastalfreak

Looking to purchase the Avet SX 5.3 to use off of pier and yak/boat for big drum, big blue/flathead cats, blacktip/bull sharks, rays, and gar, primarily. Casting won’t be critical with this reel, more of a lob about 50 feet at maximum, if ever. I plan on buying a Fathom and a dedicated surf stick for my long distance stuff. I would be dropping 4-6 oz of lead with cut bait with this setup. I’m new to the big game scene so I don’t know a lot about this. 

Im thinking of pairing it up with an Ugly Stik Tiger rod.

Any thoughts on if this is the right tool for the job? If not, what would you use? 

"It's funny how it's the little things in life that mean the most
Not where you live, what you drive or the price tag on your clothes" -Zac Brown Band

"A leader is someone who keeps their head when everyone else is losing theirs." -Bryant Wright

45 mins ago, Mlima5 said:

Sx for a bull shark? Good luck with that. Ive got an MXL 5.8 that i like alot for stripers that may do you better. Still light for bull sharks though id think 

I meant to say sharks in the 3 foot (give or take) or less range. Should have clarified, I apologize. 

"It's funny how it's the little things in life that mean the most
Not where you live, what you drive or the price tag on your clothes" -Zac Brown Band

"A leader is someone who keeps their head when everyone else is losing theirs." -Bryant Wright

Personally, I don't cast bait on a kayak, I fish up and down and focus on keeping bait right off the bottom or suspended in the middle of the water column.

A lever drag does a good job of suspending baits just off the bottom as you can use the drag to apply just enough tension to prevent the bait and weight from causing the baitclicker to slip.

If you will be holding the rod and reel in hand the Komodo 471SS could handle most of everything you mentioned, plus fill a duel purpose role as a lure reel.