ManInCharge247

Which epoxy for wood lures?

Rate this topic

16 posts in this topic

There’s no “best” finish.  All depends on wood, sealer, primer, paint, and many other things that go into building a plug.  Envirotex Lite is a good start.

I use Parks Table Top from the big box store. I'm happy with it. It plays nice with the Rustoleum spray paint cans I paint with. I do wash my plugs before epoxy top coat. Adhesion is just as important as epoxy quality. If the world's glossiest, highest build, best quality epoxy doesn't adhere well (you'll know by 'orange-peel', fisheyes, holidays, etc) you might as well have used a dip in polyurethane as a top coat. 

22 hours ago, ManInCharge247 said:

Thanks fellas

It might be worth visiting the Systems Three Epoxy webiste....I have been using their Systems Three clear coat for many, many years & so far it is my favorite...

it very well could be...But it needs a lot of heat...out east the temps are cold unless you have a well heated shop or plastic totes with light bulbs inside to keep it toasty...cold basements won't work.

4 hours ago, Mike Fixter said:

It might be worth visiting the Systems Three Epoxy webiste....I have been using their Systems Three clear coat for many, many years & so far it is my favorite...

I’m with Mike. Been using it for many years. 

17 hours ago, Bob C. said:

What did Bill Couch use, his plugs are like glass.

Just a guess, but maybe E-Tex.  Looks like two coats.

I just did a new transom for my tin boat (old one was PT).  I used marine plywood and coated it with West System.  Temp was 45 degrees in my garage and I wasn't careful as I just wanted it coated.  Dry time using the 205 harder was 8 hours and it was hard as a rock.

They have 3 different hardeners and I used the 205 which they say is the fast one (better in low temps).

If I was building lures I would seriously try this.  If you do try it buy the pumps. It makes measuring fool proof.