beerdoh

DIY Casting Glove

Rate this topic

13 posts in this topic

Thought I'd share this casting glove mod. I started wearing gloves after my "casting callus" got torn off my finger one cold fall morning. I've been using these modified gloves for a couple years and they work extremely well and last multiple seasons if you have a few pairs to rotate. What you'll need:

Maxiflex Gloves

Cut Resistant Finger Cots (short ones)

E6000 Glue

You can do this with any gloves but I prefer the Maxiflex brand as they can be machine washed and dried and hold up over time. Makes for a nice lightweight summer glove. Don't buy the really thin ones as they don't hold up as well. I also did this to my Sealskin cold weather fishing gloves so they wouldn't get torn up by the braid. They have lasted 3 years and aside from stinking like fish are as good as new.

You could also use different glue but I tried a few others like Aquaseal and it dries way too stiff. The E6000 is very thin and flexible and will last the lifetime of the glove. 

TIPs:

• Insert something finger sized like a small screwdriver handle into the casting finger of the glove.
  • Smear a very thin layer of glue on the finger of the glove and slide the finger cot over it so it's in complete contact with the glove. Pull it down tight and make sure the edges are fully glued. The less glue you use the more flexible the glove will be.
  • Leave the screwdriver in the glove until the glue dries. If you don't, it will compress and be too tight.

IMG_2993.jpg

IMG_2994.jpg

A lot easier to slip a glove on. I tried hockey tape and it always shredded or came off. I recall pieces of tape sticking to my line. The gloves also provide better grip and some level of protection from fish and barnacles when rock crawling. 

Posted (edited) · Report post

I can't do tape, I cannot tie a knot with tape on my forefinger. OP's reasoning may differ.

Edited by ZAFisher

3 mins ago, ZAFisher said: