surfrat59

Switch Rod Questions

Rate this topic

21 posts in this topic

With the current state of the fishery here in the NE, and the fact I'll have some more free time this season,  thoughts turn to alternatives. I'm thinking night tide back bays and estuaries swinging flatwings, and some trout spey in places I haven't visited in a long time. After dusting off my trout gear and 5wt Orvis Silver Label (yeah that's how long it's been since I've trout fished), I realized the old pfleuger had two spools...one a long belly 5wt F for dries and nymphs, and the other a shorter head 6wtF for streamers or rollcasting from tight banks. So with the popularity of switch rods today and to learn some new technique I picked up a Hardy Demon 5/6 11ft rod. I have zero 2H casting experience, so I'm hoping to find an instructor for a few lessons to speed the learning curve. Meantime I've SH overhead cast it on the lawn to see what kind of grain weight it likes. 325-350 seems to be the sweet spot overhead with a haul into a slight breeze. Stretching it to 380-400 the rod bends deeper and the loop opens a little too much for my liking. First question, with a skagit or scandi head/tip combo would I use more or less grains for water anchored casting, or the OH casting weight would be my combined head/tip weight regardless of casting style. Having read ideally a 3:1 ratio line to rod length is best for spey I'm looking for short heads and tip combo not exceeding 30-32 ft? Any starting point suggestions and advice would be greatly appreciated...

Bobby

Starting point for that rod overhead would be a standard 6wt weight, weight forward line.  30ft to 35ft head.  No tips.  Integrated line.  Floating or Float/sink or Float/int (ghost tip). A 6 wt Wulff Triangle taper should be about right.

Other than that, I'd contact OPST for a trout spey head/tip match for it.  Or a Wulff Ambush 5/6wt plus various lengths of T-8.