EdSy

Equal Length Rod Sections

Rate this topic

25 posts in this topic

I didn't want to hijack the Back Bay/Surf topic; but I too am shopping for a 2-piece, 8' - 9' rod for mostly back bay and river with some surf fishing less often.  For transportation reasons, I want to buy a rod with roughly equal length sections when disassembled.  I believe that the St. Croix 8' Triumph TSF80M2, and the Tica Dolphin TC3, 8' have equal length (50:50) sections.  I'd welcome comments on these, and suggestions of other 50:50 rods that I should consider.   Thanks, Ed

Penn prevail, I'm sure some will mention the penn battalion.

I have not mentioned that one because I have no experience with it never even seen one.

I prevail has served me very very well.

HH

Love my 9' 1/2-2oz Battalion! (As well as my prior Prevail)

What I hate are 50/50 splits with guide layouts that don't allow it to lay in the trunk at 50/50...by that I mean with the lure hooked onto the bottom guide of tip section and the line just snugged up via the reel. My lamiglas x11 9' 50/50 ends up 6' long when this is done, so either a hook is floating around freely or I have to remove it. 

1 hour ago, cityevader said:

What I hate are 50/50 splits with guide layouts that don't allow it to lay in the trunk at 50/50...by that I mean with the lure hooked onto the bottom guide of tip section and the line just snugged up via the reel.

Seriously?

That is the silliest reason I have ever heard for complaining about a guide layout or about 50/50 split rods

For heaven's sakes it's about performance on the water not in the trunk.

PS guides are not meant for holding pointy hooks.

Guide "rings" aren't for hooks, I agree. Guide feet, I'll use till I die.

If "performance on the water" was the sole reason for everything, there would be no two piece rods in existence.

BTW, I did not imply that guide layout *must suffer in order to conform to my desire*.